From conception to reality

Last spring, shortly after a visit from Sister Denise to Hiram College, I conceptualized the course “Sustainable Science in the Dominican and Haiti”.  I eagerly put together a syllabus, recruited Cristina (needless to say I didn’t have to twist her arm) and together we guided students as they prepared lessons and experiments for children between the ages of 5 and 12.  What I hadn’t envisioned at that time was the impact the course, the trip, the experience would have on faculty, staff, and students…. and how memories of our trip would be embedded in our hearts and our minds forever. While in the DR, I became attached to a little Haitian boy named Sony.  And as I sit in my office at Hiram on a late Friday afternoon, I see those big brown eyes smiling back at me….. gently taking my hand and assisting me in making a coconut jewelry necklace.  My hope, my dream and my prayers is that someday Sony will grow out of poverty and into a sustainable and prosperous life.  And maybe, just maybe someday I will be making coconut jewelry with Sony Junior.  I look forward to teaching the science course every year and reacquainting myself with Sony, with Caminante, and with Denise.  Next time Denise, I will know much more Spanish.  Like Paul Farmer, Denise….. YOU are my hero……

Leave a Reply

  • ______________

    This is not a peer-reviewed journal, an edited manifesto, or the final product of thought and purposeful writing. Most importantly, this is not a Hiram College endorsed publication nor does it reflect the opinions and views of Hiram College or of Caminante.
  • __The Fine Print __

    This is a blog. It is intended to be a living and growing journal for the individual reflections of college students and educators dedicated to helping people and trying to improve the world. The views expressed by the authors on this blog do not necessarily reflect the collective views of all of the authors, the website, those who link to this website, the author’s mother, father, sister, brother, uncle, aunt, grandparents, friends, or their pet. The authors aim to be as honest, accurate, respectful, complete, humble, and vulnerable as possible. None of these attributes are however guaranteed.
  • ______________

    Comments on this blog are the sole responsibility of their writers and the writer will take full responsibility for any claim that may result from something written in a comment. The administrators retain the right to omit any comments that may be offensive, disrespectful, or against the good-will of mankind.
