meet Megan.

This trip feels like a reality now!  Everyone (including myself) is scurrying to get finances together, to do more fundraising, and to finalize their lesson plans.  With all of these tasks and the departure day creeping closer and closer, I’M GETTING REALLY GIDDY AND EXCITED TO LEAVE!!

As I sit here back on Hiram’s campus again after a week of break from classes, I’m realizing what little time we have left!   I’m realizing how I wish I practiced my Spanish more during our 12-week term, with all of that time to get the grammar right!  I guess the next 4-5 weeks of Spanish prep will just have to do.  Come on 12 years of Spanish… DON’T FAIL ME NOW!

As the departure date nears, I also find myself pursuing through this blog more and more.  I’m trying to absorb as much as I can about the people and places I am going to see.  From all that I’ve seen and heard, this will surely be a life-altering, mind-blowing trip! Tomorrow adds to the reality of all this, as our ENTIRE group will finally meet as a whole.  Both the nursing group and the education group will convene for our Service Learning in the Dominican Republic preparation course!  HOW EXCITING!  I can’t wait to meet the other students!! I’m a real people-person, so making new friends is one of my favorite things!  I’m sure we’ll become even closer once we’re all together crammed into small airplanes, sitting in the hot Dominican sun, and using the same bathrooms with traveler’s stomach issues. Woo hoo!  I’m ready.

I can’t stay here and blog for too long, as I’ve got to get back to perfecting my lesson on THE LUNG AND THE HARM OF CIGARETTES.  I’m unbelievably excited to teach the children of Boca Chica about this health topic, especially since members of my own family and friend groups struggle with this same issue here in the States.  I’m very passionate about this topic and about being a TOTAL GOOFBALL during the lesson to keep the kids entertained.  (Maybe teaching is my real calling, not nursing…. hmmm…)

With love to all who read this,

Megan Orosz

Nursing Major, Biomedical Humanities Minor

Class of 2013

Leave a Reply

  • ______________

    This is not a peer-reviewed journal, an edited manifesto, or the final product of thought and purposeful writing. Most importantly, this is not a Hiram College endorsed publication nor does it reflect the opinions and views of Hiram College or of Caminante.
  • __The Fine Print __

    This is a blog. It is intended to be a living and growing journal for the individual reflections of college students and educators dedicated to helping people and trying to improve the world. The views expressed by the authors on this blog do not necessarily reflect the collective views of all of the authors, the website, those who link to this website, the author’s mother, father, sister, brother, uncle, aunt, grandparents, friends, or their pet. The authors aim to be as honest, accurate, respectful, complete, humble, and vulnerable as possible. None of these attributes are however guaranteed.
  • ______________

    Comments on this blog are the sole responsibility of their writers and the writer will take full responsibility for any claim that may result from something written in a comment. The administrators retain the right to omit any comments that may be offensive, disrespectful, or against the good-will of mankind.
