meet Kimberly.

Like most of the girls have already expressed, I am also very excited to be able to travel to the Dominican Republic this summer! When I heard about this study abroad trip, I knew that it would be a once in a lifetime opportunity that I couldn’t pass up. Throughout my high school and college years, I have done many community service projects and volunteer work, but never have I experienced something that would be this humbling and educational. My partner (Alyssa Lobaugh) and I are finishing up our materials for our lesson on children’s rights. We are beyond excited to see our storybooks come together and I hope that the children will find them interesting! I feel very passionate about our lesson, because as we have learned more about the D.R.’s culture in class, I realize that many children and adults are not receiving their basic rights that that should be given to every person with no exceptions. I hope the children at Caminante can take away these rights and ensure that they are getting them and to help others get them too.

In Monday’s class we are going to be receiving a basic Spanish lesson. Being surrounded by complete Spanish while on the trip will be one of the hardest things for me. I know no Spanish except the phrase “I need a bathroom!” which my roommate taught me!  🙂   Though it’s a useful phrase, I don’t think it’s going to be sufficient enough for three weeks! I hope the translators and children can bear with me as I stutter through my lesson, but I’m not too worried, because I know that it will all be part of the great learning experience. Don’t be surprised if I try to say things with a French accent due to years of French! 🙂

I look forward to meeting everyone at Caminante in just less than a month! Get ready for us, because we are a group of very determined girls and we’re ready to take on anything!

Leave a Reply

  • ______________

    This is not a peer-reviewed journal, an edited manifesto, or the final product of thought and purposeful writing. Most importantly, this is not a Hiram College endorsed publication nor does it reflect the opinions and views of Hiram College or of Caminante.
  • __The Fine Print __

    This is a blog. It is intended to be a living and growing journal for the individual reflections of college students and educators dedicated to helping people and trying to improve the world. The views expressed by the authors on this blog do not necessarily reflect the collective views of all of the authors, the website, those who link to this website, the author’s mother, father, sister, brother, uncle, aunt, grandparents, friends, or their pet. The authors aim to be as honest, accurate, respectful, complete, humble, and vulnerable as possible. None of these attributes are however guaranteed.
  • ______________

    Comments on this blog are the sole responsibility of their writers and the writer will take full responsibility for any claim that may result from something written in a comment. The administrators retain the right to omit any comments that may be offensive, disrespectful, or against the good-will of mankind.
