Day 2 and 3: Chelsea’s Reflections

The children’s selflessness is very shocking. The majority of the children are very concerned for the group and if everyone is taken care of. While passing out supplies during a craft, several little girls stopped participating to help me hand out supplies. From what I could tell, one child was asking other students if they had everything they needed. They were all smiles and very kind, gentle, and patient with me as I was handing out stickers. The girls and boys are very sweet and want hugs and greet you with kisses and hand holding. Every environment we have been in has been overwhelmingly loving and welcoming. The main thing I will be taking back with me to Ohio is this sense of welcoming and love that I do not ever want to forget.

A particular event that made me want to write on this topic is that one little girl in particular and I really connected over the three days. On a previous day, we had handed out silly bands as a prize at the end of our lesson. The next day, after being in Los Cocos for around 10 minutes, she ran straight up to me, hugged me, and with the cutest smile ever, proudly handed over her silly band. I naturally began to insist she keep it and initiated putting back on her little wrist. She put her hand up and smiled, so I accepted her gift (she got it back later.) It just really amazed me how this little girl, who seemingly has nothing materialistic in her possession, wanted to give me, some woman she barely knows and cannot communicate with, her one special accessory. I have seen this open, accepting, happy love, that I haven’t experienced before. The closest thing I can compare it to is hospitality I’ve been lucky enough to receive at home, but it was never from a child. She reminded me how important it is to give and show others how appreciative and grateful you are. I wish I could thank her.

Leave a Reply

  • ______________

    This is not a peer-reviewed journal, an edited manifesto, or the final product of thought and purposeful writing. Most importantly, this is not a Hiram College endorsed publication nor does it reflect the opinions and views of Hiram College or of Caminante.
  • __The Fine Print __

    This is a blog. It is intended to be a living and growing journal for the individual reflections of college students and educators dedicated to helping people and trying to improve the world. The views expressed by the authors on this blog do not necessarily reflect the collective views of all of the authors, the website, those who link to this website, the author’s mother, father, sister, brother, uncle, aunt, grandparents, friends, or their pet. The authors aim to be as honest, accurate, respectful, complete, humble, and vulnerable as possible. None of these attributes are however guaranteed.
  • ______________

    Comments on this blog are the sole responsibility of their writers and the writer will take full responsibility for any claim that may result from something written in a comment. The administrators retain the right to omit any comments that may be offensive, disrespectful, or against the good-will of mankind.
