Day 11:Lindsay’s (“soggy”) Reflections

Today, we went to the attraction, 27 waterfalls. It was a 4 hour drive to Santiago. There were 13 of us that hopped onto a bus armed with our towels, tennis shoes, and bug spray. We woke at 4:30am in order to make sure that we were ready to leave by 5am. I squeezed into the bus in between Megan and Julito, which turned out to be the best spot on the whole bus. All three of us snuggled pretty much the whole 4 hour ride. We finally arrived. We were all excited but still unsure of what was to come! We then got fitted for our life jackets and helmets. I don’t think any of us were ready for what happened that day, in a good way. We got there and hiked almost an hour up hill when we finally reached the river. We did our first ‘waterfall’ jump and it was so awesome! It was kind of scary at first, jumping off a stone cliff but it felt really great to just jump. It was exhilerating to jump into freezing cold water and do something kind of crazy. We did many jumps that were great but the best of all was the really high jump that was at least 30 feet (I’m estimating). I planned on sitting the jump out but as I watched the people in front of me jump, I felt like I had to do it. I knew that I would never get another opportunity like this. I hopped in line to jump and waited for my turn. I stepped close to the edge and paused to look around and take in all the beauty of the scene around me and the wonderful people who I was with. This trip has been rewarding, in so many ways including gaining great friends and lessons learned. I was nervous to jump but I did it….and it was AWESOME. We continued to follow the path and then finished all the waterfalls/slides. We then ate lunch and hopped back into the van to head back to the hotel. It was such a great day! I can not believe how much fun it was. The ride there and back was SO worth it. I think many of us were skeptical but that changed very quickly. It was one of the best things that I have ever done! The end.

Leave a Reply

  • ______________

    This is not a peer-reviewed journal, an edited manifesto, or the final product of thought and purposeful writing. Most importantly, this is not a Hiram College endorsed publication nor does it reflect the opinions and views of Hiram College or of Caminante.
  • __The Fine Print __

    This is a blog. It is intended to be a living and growing journal for the individual reflections of college students and educators dedicated to helping people and trying to improve the world. The views expressed by the authors on this blog do not necessarily reflect the collective views of all of the authors, the website, those who link to this website, the author’s mother, father, sister, brother, uncle, aunt, grandparents, friends, or their pet. The authors aim to be as honest, accurate, respectful, complete, humble, and vulnerable as possible. None of these attributes are however guaranteed.
  • ______________

    Comments on this blog are the sole responsibility of their writers and the writer will take full responsibility for any claim that may result from something written in a comment. The administrators retain the right to omit any comments that may be offensive, disrespectful, or against the good-will of mankind.
